2010 Pauling Medal Award Symposium & Banquet - Agenda The Evergreen State College November $6^{\rm th}, 2010$

Symposium Lecture Hall 1 at 1:00 PM

Free and open to all. Reservations are not required.

1:00 PM	Welcome! President Thomas L. "Les" Purce The Evergreen State College
1:10 PM	Preliminary Remarks Dharshi Bopegedera, Ph. D. 2010 Pauling Medal Award Symposium Chair
1:20 – 2:20 PM	Confining resonant photons to the nano-gold length scale: the new properties and applications in material science, nano-biology, and cancer nano-medicine
	Mostafa A. El-Sayed, Julius Brown Chair & Regents' Professor Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Georgia Institute of Technology
2:25 – 3:25 PM	Energy Nanoscience
	Yi Cui , Associate Professor Department of Materials Science and Engineering Stanford University
3:30 – 4:00 PM	Coffee Break, Library Building Second Floor Lobby Open to all
4:05 – 5:05 PM	Multi-component nanocrystals for solar fuel generation
	Armand Paul Alivisatos, 2010 Pauling Medalist Larry and Diane Bock Professor of Nanotechnology, University of California, Berkeley; Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; The Editor of Nano Letters
5:05 – 6:05 PM	Reception, Library Building, Second Floor Lobby Open to all

Banquet

Library Third Floor Lobby at 6:15 PM Reservations and tickets are required

6:15 PM **Banquet**

Reservations and Tickets Required

7:15 PM Introduction of the 2010 Pauling Medalist

Rebecca Sunderman, Ph. D.

2010 Pauling Medal Award Chair

7:30 PM Medal and Certificate Presentation

Rebecca Sunderman, Pauling Medal Award Chair

Dharshi Bopegedera, Pauling Medal Symposium

Chair

Jeff Moore, Puget Sound ACS Section Chair

Richard Nafshun, Oregon ACS Section Chair

David Stewart-Smith, Portland ACS Section Chair

7:45 PM Pauling Medal Award Address

Professor Armand Paul Alivisatos

2010 Linus Pauling Medalist

University of California, Berkeley