CORVALLIS, Ore. – One week after picking up her first ever collegiate cross country win, senior Karissa Carlson (Pateros, Wash./Pateros HS) led the way once again, taking 18th against a tough field at the OSU Beaver Classic at Avery Park in Corvallis, Ore.  The Geoduck women finished eighth in the team standings while the Evergreen men took 13th place.

Carlson, who won the Warner Pacific Invite last week, was the 18th runner across the line, finishing ahead of many NCAA Division I runners, including all those competing for hometown Oregon State.  Averaging 6:09 per mile, she completed the 6000m course in 23:06, two seconds ahead of Alexandra Rudd from Southern Oregon.  The Geoducks compiled a team score for the first time in 2011, taking eighth with 212 points, 16 points better than fellow Cascade Conference member Warner Pacific.

University of Portland won the team title with a score of 35 while Bronwyn Crossman of national-power Oregon took the individual title with a time of 21:20, just beating out teammate Taylor Wallace.

Savy Rigney (Lake Arrowhead, Calif./Rim of the World HS) finished in 43rd for Evergreen with a time of 24:49.  Britta Peterson (Port Orchard, Wash./South Kitsap HS) was 70th with a time of 26:42 while Oliviz Zook wasn’t far behind, taking 75th with a time of 27:17.  Ashley DiCristina (Prescott, Ariz./Brandshaw Mountain HS) was 86th (30:28) and Gerry Artman (Laguna Beach, Calif./Laguna Beach HS) took 89th (40:56).

The Evergreen men were led by Sean LaBelle (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Bainbridge HS), who took 121st with a time of 29:45.  John Barker was right on his tail, taking 123rd with a time of 29:48, while Clint Posey (Lynnwood, Wash./Meadowdale HS) finished 132nd, covering the course in 30:52.  Freshman Les Jones (Tacoma, Wash./Mt. Tahoma HS) was 134th with a time of 31:06, and Drew Hawley (Seatac, Wash./Mt. Rainier HS) rounded out the scoring with a time of 34:29, taking 143rd overall.

The Geoduck men with 13th as a team with 413 points, averaging 31:12 over the 8000m course.  University of Oregon won the men’s title with a score of 37 while unattached runner David Laney took the individual title with a time of 24:40.

Evergreen will next take the course on Nov. 5 with the Cascade Conference title on the line in Ashland, Ore.

Results: Men/Women

Leave your comment